The auction for the fourth edition of the IPL will be held on January 8 and 9 next year. The auction will be held in Bangalore. Here is the list of some of the players who will participate in the auction and could be bid for.

$400,000 base price:

Brian Lara, Rahul Dravid, Graeme Swann, Adam Gilchrist, Shaun Marsh, Kevin Pietersen, Michael Yardy, Anil Kumble, Brett Lee, Luke Wright, Yuvraj Singh, James Anderson, Brendon McCullum, Daniel Vettori, Graeme Smith, AB de Villiers, Ross Taylor, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene, Chris Gayle, Stuart Broad

$300,000 base price:

Jacques Kallis, Muttiah Muralitharan, Zaheer Khan, Yusuf Pathan, Shaun Tait, Andrew Symonds, Angelo Mathews and Kumar Sangakkara.

$200,000 base price:

Sourav Ganguly, Gautam Gambhir, Michael Hussey, Doug Bollinger, Dirk Nannes, Eoin Morgan, Robin Uthappa and Sanath Jayasuriya.

$100,000 base price:

Tamim Iqbal, Morne Morkel, Ben Hilfenhaus, R Ashwin
Kindly note that the meaning of the base price or the reserve price is only a price at which the bidding will start. A player with a base price of $100,000 could end up earning much more if he is attractive for more than a team.

Also note that none of the Pakistani cricketers have been selected for the IPL auction which means that will miss the IPL again. Also missing from action will be the likes of Michael Clarke, Ricky Ponting, Mitchell Johnson, Adam Gilchrist and Glen McGrath.

12 of the players from the previous tournament were retained by the teams.

These included:

Sachin Tendulkar, Kieron Pollard, Harbhajan Singh and Lasith Malinga (Mumbai), Virat Kohli (Bangalore), Shane Warne and Shane Watson (Rajasthan), Virender Sehwag (Delhi), Suresh Raina, Murali Vijay, MS Dhoni, Albie Morkel (Chennai